Why Don’t Comics Make Me Cry?

The last time I cried over a comic was recently, when I welled up while reading Dotter of her Father’s Eyes by Mary and Bryan Talbot. I cry all the time when I read novels, or watch TV and movies. This emotional reaction comes quickly for me with all kinds of media, but it’s rare that it happens in response to comics. One occurrence that I can recall was over Farley’s death in For Better of For Worse. The old dog dies of exhaustion after he has saved April from drowning when she falls in the river. Another was years ago, when reading Rosinski and van Hamme’sChninkel. That covers about twenty years, and is rather few and far between as crying goes, especially considering the amount of comics I read.

Why Don’t Comics Make Me Cry?.

Leave a Reply

