Are Authors Scared to Write Diverse Books?

by  Author

Recently, there’s been a fantastic online campaign going on called We Need Diverse Books. You’ve probably seen the hashtag flying by on Twitter or the Tumblr site. So this is not a post about why we need diverse books. Of course, we need them. Desperately. And if you need more reasons to add, check out their website.

However, what I do want to talk about are some of the myths and fears authors have to tackle when deciding to write a book with characters who are of a different race, ethnicity, religion, socioeconomic status, physical ability level, and/or sexual orientation from their own. Because let’s face it, there are some pitfalls that can happen.

And unfortunately, many times those potential pitfalls scare authors away from making their characters more diverse because it seems easier to just “write what you know,” which many times can end up meaning writing “people who look/act/talk exactly like me.” And because we need more diversity in the author ranks as well, we end up with loads of books where the vast majority of characters are white and straight and middle class because authors are “writing what they know.”

This has bothered me in my own genre for a long time. I write romance and if you look across the romance shelves in the bookstore (just like if you look at the middle grade shelves or young adult or urban fantasy or thrillers or pick almost any genre), you see a bunch of white faces looking back at you. But, of course, if you look around the store, you know that this is not real life. Our world is big. Readers are diverse.

know my readers are diverse. But when I looked at my first few books, I realized I was doing the same thing. I was writing characters who looked like me (well, thinner and with better hair, of course) but I was falling into the same trap. And why was I doing that? That wasn’t a reflection of my day-to-day life. I live in a diverse community and have a diverse group of friends. My own family is full of diversity. So what was I doing?

And I realized (a) I was being lazy and (b) I was a little scared.

The first one was unintentional and easy enough to fix. But the second one took some thought. I’ve always included LGBT characters in my stories, so that wasn’t an issue. But besides having a Hispanic secondary hero in my second book, I’d been woefully homogenous when it came to race and ethnicity. So I decided to write a Latina heroine in my book, Not Until You. And I just recently wrote an African-American heroine in Nothing Between Us, my book that comes out January 2015.

So now when I’m creating a main character or secondary character, I make sure that I build the person from a blank slate. I don’t want to fall into having a “default” that everyone who walks onto the page is white, straight, and middle-class until proven otherwise. But along the way, I did (and still do) wrestle with some of the worries that I think lot of authors may face when choosing to diversify their characters.

The Fears and How to Move Past Them  click here

 

Leave a Reply

